On gratitude and footwear

Howdy there, friends! I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving, surrounded by loved ones and filled with delicious food. 

In keeping with the spirit of last week’s holiday, I’ve been ruminating on the subject of gratitude. I’m a lucky girl and have always had so much to be grateful for, but I’m sorry to admit that I haven’t always been able to see that. More and more, though, I’ve been awash in gratitude, which is the way I should be.

So this year, before Thanksgiving and on Thanksgiving and after, I am most grateful for being able to enjoy the simple yet powerful act of feeling gratitude.

Sometimes it’s the little things (like enjoying a morning run that makes you feel less like an enormous molecule of starchy carbohydrate) or big things (like my family and friends). But on this Monday morning (Cyber Monday, if you go in for that sort of thing), I want to write about something near and dear to my heart…hiking socks.

Aside from being one of the best means of taking care of one’s feet that I’ve ever found, they are spectacularly spectacular in nearly every way. I first came to understand the wonder that are hiking socks several years ago when my aunt and her husband gave me a pair for Christmas. I’m ashamed to admit that my first reaction was closer to Socks? Seriously? than anything approximating an appropriate response: Thanks for thinking of me. These look very warm.

But, oh!, what a gift it was. Not only that first pair (which is still my favorite), but for introducing me to a whole new genre of footwear. Hiking socks are the manifestation of my personal style: comfort and performance married in one place. Durable, cushy, built-in arch support, warm but breathable, and so, so cozy. Splendidly practical, but elevated by a certain amount of luxury. These are no ordinary socks.

As you might have figured our, I get irrationally excited about hiking socks. I wear them when I go for a run, when I’m  out and about, when I’m working or relaxing at home (they make spectacular slippers), when I’m taking a dance break, when I sleep. In short, I heart hiking socks, and I wanted you to know it.

But enough about me. Do you have any article of clothing you can’t live without? 

Leave a Reply

