On best friends

Today’s rescued calendar page (or, more accurately, the calendar page from last year on the same date) had only one thing on it that meant something to me…but what a thing it was:

Sitting next to your best friend

Here’s a truth about me: my best friends don’t live anywhere near me. I have good friends here, but the best of the best, the ones who know what I’m going to say even before I think it, they are elsewhere. One lives in Pittsburgh, one lives in New York City, and one lives alllllllll the way across an ocean in Berlin. So believe me when I say that I don’t take the act of sitting next to any of those wonderful ladies for granted. I’m not whining, though, because I am profoundly lucky to have stumbled across each of them, and even more profoundly lucky that they decided to keep me.

Here’s another truth about me (even if it’s all too easy to forget momentarily in the rush and bustle of daily life): my best friends are always with me, no matter how many miles (nautical or otherwise) there are that separate us physically. They are with me because, in addition to inhabiting the physical world, they live in my heart, my mind, and my soul. They are home and safety and laughter and joy and adventure and life.

e.e. cummings said it best, so I will do nothing more than borrow his words:

i carry your heart with me

i carry your heart with me (i carry it in
my heart) i am never without it (anywhere
i go you go, my dear; and whatever is done
by only me is your doing, my darling)
                                  i fear
no fate (for you are my fate, my sweet) i want
no world (for beautiful you are my world, my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life; which grows
higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

i carry your heart (i carry it in my heart)

Leave a Reply

