Leap Day!

First of all, happy February 29th! I find the idea of a day that occurs only once every four years very intriguing. In my mind, it’s far more special than some of the other reasons we find to celebrate (Valentine’s Day, I’m looking at you–and no, I’m not a curmudgeon…I just think you should celebrate the love you have everyday).

Second of all, and this is a related point, how is it that we’ve already arrived at the end of February? I realized this morning that I haven’t posted in over two weeks! I’m not entirely sure where the month went, though I will tell you that it involved enormous amounts of kale, lots of Anna Karenina, being too sick to move for several days, and a weekend trip to see my folks.

The other thing I did a lot of this month is actually quite central to my objective of Life Improvement. You see, I started this blog after having one of those miserable moments when you realize your life feels like someone else is living it, and in striving to build a better and more authentic life for myself, I started walking the walk.

For years I’ve dreamed of being a writer. I started things, put them aside, and went back and forth, dancing around it. In the meantime, I focused on my education and then I focused on work. I think that I never truly saw writing as a viable option for me. It wasn’t a professional career. It was based on creativity. I can’t rely on that. Fast forward a decade and I see now that I was doing nothing more than surviving the life I convinced myself I wanted to live.

How do you change that? Well, for the past two months I’ve been writing everyday. I wake up, write, go to my day job, work 10-11 hours, come home, write, and sleep. It’s a pretty intense routine, but mostly it just feel like I have a purpose, a calling. I’m happier than I’ve been in years. Hurray!

So, in short (ha), I have been neglecting Happier because I’ve been making myself happier. I find that this new life of mine takes some balance, and so I will strive to keep this blog in the mix because it, too, makes me happier, and that’s what this is all about.

In the meantime, have a wonderful Leap Day, and I’ll talk to you again soon!

Leave a Reply

